Board & Governance

The Community Futures St. Paul - Smoky Lake team is powered by its Board of Directors. Our board members really care about the community and understand the challenges of owning a business. Meet our Board of Directors:


Hedrick, Dale

Board Member

Dale came to the Community Futures Board in October 2019 and was appointed by the County of St. Paul.  He is a County Councillor and is happy to bring his knowledge and experience as a small business owner to the board.


T: 780-210-2365



Whitelaw, Ross

Board Member
T: 780-656-3532

Ross is a councilor for the Town of Smoky Lake. He and his wife operate a consulting business out of their home. She is a bookkeeper while Ross programs and creates databases. Ross has a consedirable experience on various boards. He is curently chairman of YUGO Ministries, Canada and a member of the board for On Eagle's Wings. For a while, Ross was a Council of General Synod, national governing body of the Anglican Church of Canada.


Melody Morton

Board Member

Melody Morton was born in Sussex New Brunswick but moved to Alberta with her family at a young age. After living in a few different communities, she landed in Smoky Lake in 2004, since then she has made it her home. She has been working at Chomay Dental for the last 14 years and currently is a member of the Smoky Lake town council. Melody is passionate about her community and enjoys volunteering for the local services groups.


Frank Barry

Board Member
T: 780-614-0950

Frank is the representative on the Board from the Village of Vilna. Frank spent many years on Village of Vilna council and has a heart for the community. Frank has many interests and enjoys his time with Community Futures in assisting small businesses across the region.


Gary Ward

Vice Chair
T: 780-646-0845

Gary is a Town Councillor - Town of St. Paul. He is a former business owner and an avid sports enthusiast who can be found volunteering with one of the local sports teams. Currenlty Gary is a salesperson for Smyl Motors and enjoys working in the community to see that there are lots of opportunities for people to enjoy living small communities.


Nathan Taylor

Board Member

Nathan is currently a Councillor from the Town of St. Paul. Nathan has a long history with Community Futures as he is returning to our board after sitting as a Smoky Lake representative in the past. He enjoyed his time with our board and even after moving to a new community in the region, once again asked to be on the board representing his new community. Nathan works for CNRL out of Elk Point. Nathan is busy in the community as a husband and father. He is also the President of the newly formed Lasting Impressions Toastmasters club.


Debra McQuinn

Board Chair
T: 780-614-8288

My job is to hear, see, and speak for my communities needs and wishes. To be an advocate for change and growth while displaying a respectful, honest, and dependable leadership role. This term is my second time in council and I hope to be able to help our small community achieve success, growth, and prosperity.

I am a Collage graduate from Lakeland College, Lloydminster campus class of 1997; with a diploma as a Rehabilitation Practioner in the field of study of Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions.

I am currently the Assistant Manager Member Services with Servus Credit Union St. Paul branch, and a member of Town of Elk Point Council.

Board Criteria

Community Futures St. Paul Smoky Lake Region was incorporated June 28, 1989. Articles of Association were passed at that time and have been updated a few times since to meet the current demands of the organization.

The appointments are made by the member shareholder municipalities as follows and can be municipal councillor appointments or member of the community appointed by the municipality to represent them.   Three Member at Large Positions are also open for recruitment by the board.

County of St. Paul – 2 members

County of Smoky Lake – 1 member

Village of Vilna – 1 member

Town of Elk Point – 1 member

Town of St. Paul – 2 members

Town of Smoky Lake – 1 member

Whitefish Lake First Nation – 1 member

Directors At Large – 3 members

No Director shall be elected to the Board for more than nine consecutive years.

On an annual basis, the Board will elect an Executive Committee comprised of a Chair, Vice-Chair, and Treasurer from amongst the Members generally. This will be done by secret ballot and all Board members (both elected and appointed) will be eligible to vote.

Are you a prominent member of our business community and looking to make a difference?

Impact the growth of our community and join our board. We’re always looking for great people to help better our business community here in St. Paul - Smoky Lake Region and offer new growth opportunities to St. Paul - Smoky Lake Region based entrepreneurs.

Contact Us

Box 1484
4802 - 50 Avenue
St. Paul, AB  T0A 3A0
P: 780-645-5782


Communities Served

Abilene, Ashmont, Bellis, Boyne Lake, Brosseau, Elk Point, Foisy, Goodfish Lake, Heinsburg, Horseshoe Bay, Lafond, Lindbergh, Mallaig, McRae, Saddle Lake, Smoky Lake, Spedden, St Brides, St Edouard, St Lina, St Paul, St Vincent, Vilna, Warspite, Waskatenau